Oman suspends flights to seven African countries


Saturday، 27 November 2021 05:30 PM

The Sultanate of Oman decided today to suspend entry for arrivals from seven African countries in light of reports received about the spread of a new variant of Coronavirus (Covid 19).
The supreme committee in charge of examining the mechanism for dealing with developments resulting from the spread of the Coronavirus (Covid 19) in Oman announced the suspension of entry for those coming from South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Eswatini and Mozambique, as well as those coming from any other countries if they had passed through any of these seven countries during the 14 days preceding the request to enter Oman, starting at eight in the morning tomorrow.

The committee confirmed that this decision will remain in effect until further notice.
On Thursday, South African scientists announced the discovery of a new variant of Covid-19 which may be highly contagious called Omicron. Many countries announced the suspension of flights to and from southern Africa, as a precaution to prevent the spread of the new variant.

Add Comment

There are no comments.